Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Keystone Pipeline being revived by Congress

February 1, 2012 - On Monday, Sen. John Hoeven (R-N.D.), along with 44 co-sponsors, introduced a bill ( S 2041) that would grant Congress the authority to approve the Keystone pipeline. President Obama has already said no to granting approval for the construction project, an outcome accelerated by language in the pay-roll tax law that required Obama to make a decision by late February. Construction of the pipeline that would span from Alberta, Canada to the Gulf of Mexico is supported by the American Petroleum Institute, the Association of Oil Pipe Lines, the Consumer Energy Alliance, the Independent Petroleum Association of America, the Industrial Energy Consumers of America, and the National Petrochemical & Refiners Association.
Below is an analysis conducted by MapLight of campaign contributions to senators from individuals and organizations connected to the Oil & Gas industry, made between July 1, 2005 and June 30, 2011.
  • Out of the 36 senators who have the Oil & Gas Industry amongst their top 10 contributing industry groups, only five senators did not co-sponsor the bill.
  • Nineteen of the top 20 recipients of campaign contributions connected to the Oil & Gas industry co-sponsored the bill, the lone exception being Mary Landrieu (D-La.), who received a total of $424,700 from Oil & Gas interests.
Rank of Oil & Gas Industry
as a Contributor to Lawmaker
Lawmaker Bill Co-sponsor      
(7/1/2005 – 6/30/2011)
1 Sen. James Inhofe [R, OK] Yes $472,000
  Sen. John Hoeven [R, ND] Yes $251,789
2 Sen. John Cornyn [R, TX] Yes $1,000,725
  Sen. David Vitter [R, LA] Yes $536,000
  Sen. Roger Wicker [R, MS] Yes $362,500
  Sen. John Barrasso [R, WY] Yes $347,650
  Sen. Kay Hutchison [R, TX] Yes $336,386
  Sen. Thomas Coburn [R, OK] Yes $184,650
  Sen. James Risch [R, ID] Yes $83,550
3 Sen. Mary Landrieu [D, LA] No $424,700
  Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R, AK] Yes $314,526
4 Sen. Mark Begich [D, AK] No $145,405
  Sen. Michael Enzi [R, WY] Yes $125,300
5 Sen. Pat Roberts [R, KS] Yes $229,200
  Sen. John Boozman [R, AR] Yes $117,602
  Sen. Jeff Bingaman [D, NM] No $98,920
6 Sen. Roy Blunt [R, MO] Yes $529,850
  Sen. Jerry Moran [R, KS] Yes $215,051
  Sen. Lamar Alexander [R, TN] Yes $156,050
  Sen. Daniel Coats [R, IN] Yes $147,183
7 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R, NH] Yes $127,783
  Sen. Joe Manchin [D, WV] Yes $122,700
  Sen. Thad Cochran [R, MS] Yes $81,550
  Sen. Mike Lee [R, UT] Yes $45,050
8 Sen. Patrick Toomey [R, PA] Yes $263,516
  Sen. Mark Pryor [D, AR] No $144,650
9 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R, KY] Yes $528,500
  Sen. Jeff Sessions [R, AL] Yes $104,700
  Sen. Rand Paul [R, KY] Yes $102,940
10 Sen. Bob Corker [R, TN] Yes $339,250
  Sen. Robert Portman [R, OH] Yes $295,758
  Sen. Richard Burr [R, NC] Yes $224,600
  Sen. Marco Rubio [R, FL] Yes $200,750
  Sen. Ben Nelson [D, NE] No $193,550
  Sen. John Thune [R, SD] Yes $176,990
  Sen. Jim DeMint [R, SC] Yes $134,073
Click here to download a spreadsheet with contributions from Oil & Gas to all current members of the Senate (July 1, 2005 - June 30, 2011) and the House of Representatives (July 1, 2009 - June 30, 2011). The spreadsheet also includes contributions connected to Environmental protection interest groups.
METHODOLOGY: MapLight analysis of campaign contributions to current members of the U.S. Senate from organizations and individuals connected to the Oil & Gas industry, July 1, 2005 - June 30, 2011. Campaign contributions data source:
A link to this data release can be found here.
MapLight is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that reveals money's influence on politics.

Connect with MapLight on  Twitter and  Facebook.

No comments:

Post a Comment